Outside Lands 2011 Recap

 

 

 

What a refreshing festival! The temps were mild to low(Way colder than LA)and the music was hot to not(crickets chirping…as in Big Boi didn’t show). As always I didn’t see everyone I wanted to see BUT this year I was sober enough to remember every show that I saw. Here they are in order of importance…whatever that means.

MUSE: Second time seeing them and I enjoyed them much more this time! Not only because I remember the show but because as they played each great song I kept waiting for them to play one that I didn’t know…and it never happened…apparently they get their songs played alot because I don’t own an album…yet.
Their musicianship is top notch, their songs have perfect transitions and the vocals have a tone perfect for matching with your own…coupled with lyrics that provoke you to join in and sing.

Arcade Fire: I’ve been waiting for this show for some time and it was well worth it. They are the best ensemble of multi-faceted musicians playing instruments while singing vocals teamed up and on tour today.  Very cool that they are involved in helping Haiti as well(they took a moment during the show to spread the good word).

Tom Fogerty:  This was by far the best daytime show of the festival.  Everyone was dancing and singing along to his deep catalogue of hits.  Some of the CCR music made me feel like I was in an epic movie about the 60’s.  Oh and he covered “Pretty Woman” reeeally well!

The Shins:  Just a really well balanced show.  I got into everything they played, the entire time…not easily done at the end of a long day of music and with a set list inherently chill.

Phish:  I gotta see you guys again…I loved the few songs I heard but HAD to catch The Shins.  Obviously they know what their doing and the Phish heads were lovin it(Some great dancers in that crowd)

~JJ Banicki~


About this entry